Isabelle et Pierre Clément – Domaine de Châtenoy – Vins de Menetou Salon

Our motto « no good wine without good grapes »

The vineyards

The vineyards

Au coeur de la famille des vins du Centre Loire

The vineyards of Menetou-Salon lie in the north of the Centre Loire region and rub shoulders with appellations such as Sancerre and Pouilly-Fumé.

An ideal climate

In addition to the geographical location, another defining characteristic is its semi-continental which is particularly well suited to the cultivation of the vine and the secret to such incredibly fresh wines.

Our plots were carefully structured by previous generations of our family and are situated in outstanding terroirs in ten of the appellation’s communes.

Clos de Coquin, Clos des Barres, Clos Saint-Pierre, Clos de Bâton, Clos du Lardat, Clos de Blanchet and Clos des Treilles. Each plot is individually named in the land registry and benefits from its own microclimate as well as unique characteristics which were identified centuries ago by our ancestors.

We also cultivate plots of vines belonging to our partner winegrowers which are treated to the same care and attention as our own vines. Our vineyards are planted with two-thirds Sauvignon Blanc and one third Pinot Noir with the latter being used to produce our reds and rosés. Our vines are low, narrow and densely planted at 8,000 vine stocks per hectare which is the optimum threshold for aromatic expression. Our vines are deeply rooted in our soils which enables them to impart such exceptional complexity and minerality to our wines.

The Terroir

It’s hard to believe that there was once a sea in the centre of France !

and yet the presence of small fossilized oyster shells scattered throughout our soils indeed attests to the existence of these waters. Over 150 million years ago the Jurassic period gave rise to a geological stratum known as Kimmeridgian. Marine sediments deposited over millions of years have created ideal conditions for winegrowing. Our varietals thrive here and have resulted in what is one of the finest expressions of Sauvignon Blanc in the whole world. The region’s Pinot Noirs are also outstanding and develop a remarkably elegant profile when grown in these soils. 

An outstanding terroir alone is not enough to produce outstanding wines however and the vine stocks must also be of the highest quality. The wines from Châtenoy come from very old vine stocks that receive our utmost care and attention allowing us to create consistently high-quality wines. 

The wines from Châtenoy come from very old vine stocks that receive our utmost care and attention allowing us to create consistently high-quality wines. The majority of vines planted in France and around the world originate from ‘clonal selections’ meaning that the vine stock is reproduced identically and on a large scale for reasons of productivity and convenience. We, on the other hand, decided to opt for ‘massal selection’ as we take great pride in preserving the intangible legacy and genetic diversity of our vines. The selection was made from our oldest Sauvignon vines which were planted in 1927 by Pierre Alexandre Clément. In addition to the quality benefits of this meticulous work, we can’t help but feel that Pierre Alexandre’s spirit is still alive at the domaine!

An eco-friendly approach

Our family is committed to a sustainable and eco-friendly approach to wine growing and has implemented several initiatives to protect the environment. After being awarded Terra Vitis and HVE certification, it was natural for us to begin the organic agriculture conversion process in 2021. Our commitment to the environment goes far beyond organic practices however! Our pledge to respect the flora, for example, is reflected by our ‘Zero plastic in the vineyards’ policy (the young vines are protected by cardboard coverings). Hedgerows and fruit trees have been planted around the plots to improve biodiversity. And because we like to leave our vines in the capable hands of Nature, we have also built several chickadee nesting boxes in the vineyards. This was not just to hear their lovely bird song but because they feed on insects that would otherwise enjoy devouring our grapes. These chickadees are therefore a natural way of preventing insects from damaging our vines. Lastly, and because a high-quality wine requires impeccable hygiene, we have introduced an innovative cleaning system in our cellars that uses ozone instead of chemical products. 

The Harvest

The harvests are one of the most important moments in our profession as they are the culmination of an entire year’s work. 

Each and every vine stock is carefully tended throughout the growing cycle to ensure the highest quality fruit come September. The date for the start of the harvests varies depending on the weather conditions over the year in general but also on the micro-climates of each individual plot of vines and terroir. A team of around 30 pickers help us reap the fruit of a whole year’s work which involves a variety of tasks including pruning, ploughing, disbudding and leaf stripping.

Vous aimez nos vins ?

Join our mailing list! I subscribe!  

Subscribe to our Newsletter !

If you wish to receive our latest news, please fill the form from our 'Contact' page by ticking 'Yes' » à la question « 'I wish to receive the lastest news from Domaine de Châtenoy' »

I subscribe!

 

en_USEnglish

Pour visiter notre site, vous devez être en âge d’acheter et de consommer de l’alcool selon la législation de votre pays de résidence. S’il n’existe pas de législation sur ce sujet, vous devez être âgé de 18 ans au moins.

To use this site, you must be of legal age to buy and consume alcohol in your country of residence. If there is no legislation in this regard in your country, you must be at least 18 years old.

Isabelle et Pierre Clément – Domaine de Châtenoy – Vins de Menetou Salon

Notre devise « pas de bon vin sans bon raisin »

Le vignoble

Le vignoble

Au coeur de la famille des vins du Centre Loire

Le vignoble de Menetou-Salon, situé en plein cœur de la famille des vins du Centre-Loire constituée d’appellations soeurs telles que Sancerre ou Pouilly-Fumé, appartient aux vins dits septentrionaux.

Un climat idéal

Outre son emplacement géographique, l’une de ses caractéristiques est marquée par un climat semi-continental, particulièrement favorable à la culture de la vigne…Un des secrets de la fraîcheur de nos cuvées !

Notre domaine s’étend sur plus de soixante hectares de vignes. Nos parcelles, répertoriées méthodiquement par nos anciens, sont réparties sur les meilleurs terroirs des dix communes de l’appellation.

On peut citer le Clos de Coquin, le Clos des Barres, le Clos Saint-Pierre, le Clos de Bâton, le Clos du Lardat, le Clos de Blanchet ou encore le Clos des Treilles, chacun étant isolé au cadastre, bénéficiant d’un microclimat et d’une typicité particulière, déjà identifiés il y a des siècles par l’observation de nos aïeux.

Avec le même soin nous entretenons les vignes de nos viticulteurs partenaires. Notre vignoble est planté pour deux tiers en sauvignon blanc et le reste en pinot noir pour la production de nos vins rouges et rosés. Nos vignes sont basses et étroites avec une forte densité de plantation, 8000 pieds/hectare, seuil optimal pour obtenir la meilleure expression aromatique, et des raisins nourris par des plants ayant puisé profondément leurs ressources dans nos terroirs apportant d’autant plus de complexité et de minéralité à nos vins.

Le terroir

Au centre de la France coulait un jour, une mer… Difficile à croire !

Et pourtant, nos petites coquilles d’huîtres fossilisées, surnommées chez nous “Oreilles de poule”, essaiment nos sols et en sont un témoignage manifeste. Datant de plus de 150 millions d’années, la période du jurassique a donné naissance à cet étage géologique appelé Kimméridgien. Les sédiments marins déposés au fil des millions d’années ont permis à nos cépages de s’y épanouir et de présenter l’une des meilleures expressions du Sauvignon blanc du monde. Le Pinot noir n’est pas en reste bien sûr et dévoile ici toute sa finesse ! 

Mais un terroir extraordinaire ne saurait faire de bon vins sans vignes de qualité. Elles sont anciennes au domaine de Châtenoy, gage du soin que nous leur apportons offrant régularité dans la qualité des vins produits. 

En France et dans le monde, l’extrême majorité des vignes plantées sont issues de sélections dites “clonales” : chaque pied de vigne est ainsi reproduit à l’identique et massivement, par souci de productivité et de confort. A l’inverse, convaincus de la nécessité de conserver le patrimoine immatériel et la diversité génétiques des plants, notre famille a fait le choix de la sélection “massale”. Nous avons ainsi établi une sélection à partir de notre plus vieille vigne de sauvignon blanc, plantée en 1927 par Pierre Alexandre Clément. Outre l’intérêt qualitatif de ce travail minutieux, c’est un peu de son héritage qui coule encore dans nos verres…

Une démarche éco-responsable

Animés par une démarche durable et “éco logique”, notre famille développe de nombreuses initiatives favorables à l’environnement. Après les certifications Terra Vitis et HVE, c’est donc tout naturellement que le domaine a débuté sa conversion bio en 2021… Mais nous allons déjà bien au-delà ! Le respect de la flore, par exemple, se manifeste par une politique du “0 plastiques dans les vignes” (les jeunes plants sont protégés par des caches en carton), des haies et arbres fruitiers sont plantés en bordure de parcelles pour enrichir la biodiversité…Et parce que la nature fait bien les choses, nous avons également installé de nombreux nichoirs à mésanges dans leur vignoble. Pour leur chant, peut-être ! Mais surtout parce que ces oiseaux se nourrissent d’insectes un peu trop gourmands des raisins… C’est ainsi que les mésanges se repaissent de nos “petits ravageurs de la vigne”. Parce qu’un bon vin nécessite une hygiène irréprochable, nos caves sont nettoyées grâce à un processus innovant : l’ozone, permettant d’éviter l’utilisation de tout produit chimique. 

Les vendanges

Les vendanges sont l’un des temps les plus forts de notre métier et surtout le résultat d’un an de travail… 

Chaque pied de vigne est soigné tout au long de la saison pour présenter ses raisins sous leur meilleur jour, le mois de septembre arrivé. La date de début de vendanges  évolue en fonction du millésime, c’est-à-dire du climat observé tout au long de l’année mais également en fonction des microclimats de chaque parcelle de nos vignes, bénéficiant d’expositions ou de terroirs différents. Une trentaine de vendangeurs viennent épauler nos troupes pour cueillir le fruit d’une année de labeur faite de tâches variées : taille, travail du sol, ébourgeonnage, effeuillage…

Vous aimez nos vins ?

Recevez chaque trimestre les actualités du domaine directement par mail ! Je m’inscris !  

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !

Si vous souhaitez recevoir nos informations, actualités et offres, merci de remplir le formulaire de la page contact en cochant « oui » à la question « je souhaite recevoir les actualités du Domaine de Châtenoy »

Je m’inscris !

 

fr_FRFrançais

En visitant ce site, je certifie que j’ai l’âge légal pour la consommation d’alcool dans mon pays de résidence.

I certify that I am of legal drinking age in my country of residence.