Isabelle et Pierre Clément – Domaine de Châtenoy – Vins de Menetou Salon

A house marked by a winemaker tradition

The Domaine

The Domaine

Welcome to the Clément family at Domaine de Châtenoy!

 

We would like to welcome you to our family domaine which was built in 1884 by P-A Clément, great-great-grandfather to Anne, Marie and Pierre-Alexandre, so that we may share with you our passion for our craft and our wines. 

 

Although this 19th-century residence, which is the current home of Pierre-Alexandre and the place where he grew up with his sisters Anne and Marie, has changed very little over the decades, the same cannot be said for our modern and spacious winery! 

These ancient vaulted cellars saw the birth of the family domaine’s very first vintage and are still in use today and open to visitors.

 

As wine producers in Menetou-Salon since 1560, our family is still dedicated to the cultivation of the vine today.

DAME AVEC MAISON 1P
DEUX VERRESP

From the vine to the glass

Our cellars are located in Menetou-Salon in the Cher department in the Centre Loire wine region and they certainly have a few secrets to share with you… 

The motto “a good wine is not possible without good grapes” is of course true although it is much easier to say it than to execute it! In order to respect each grape, from the vineyards right through to the glass, several stages must be carefully managed and mastered. 

Our white wines are made from the Sauvignon varietal and our rosés from Pinot Noir. Pressing is carried out with the fruit intact using a pneumatic press to ensure gentle extraction and the highest quality juices possible. 

The vinification of our red wines, which are made from the Pinot Noir varietal, begins with cold pre-fermentation maceration before continuing in temperature-controlled stainless-steel vats which enable the development of intense fruity aromas. Temperature control is a means of carefully managing fermentation. We also carry out cap punching, a gentle traditional technique that enables us to draw out the colours, tannins and aromas from the grapes and gives rise to high-quality wines.

Our cellars were designed by Isabelle and Pierre with this continuous quest for excellence and attention to detail in mind.

Savoir-faire

Bringing out the best in our terroir and revealing the unique characteristics of the vintage in each wine lie at the heart of our family’s approach to winemaking. 

Pierre qualified as an oenologist before spending several years experimenting and identifying the most effective ways to work with the grape, naturally, throughout the vinification process.

This high level of care and attention is the secret to our domaine’s exceptional wines...

The process of transforming the grape into wine is carried out using natural yeasts which accentuate the personality of the vintage whilst long fermentations and ageing in contact with the lees impart elegance and finesse to the finished wines. All of our red wines and some of our whites are aged in oak barrels and foudres (tuns) sourced from the most reputed forests in France (Tronçais and Fontainebleau) and used on our domaine since 1985. Barrel ageing encourages malolactic fermentation which imparts a smooth, round structure to the wine. 

ROUGE TRAD FUT P

Team Spirit

Our family is supported year-round by a highly motivated and dedicated team.

The team is composed of all ages from 24 to 57 years old. The oldest has overseen the creation of 40 vintages thus far at the domaine and new generations contribute by bringing a fresh perspective each year. 

Added to that, we have the seasonal workers who join us to help out with tying, disbudding and shoot binding as let’s not forget that viticulture is first and foremost a manual occupation!

Vous aimez nos vins ?

Join our mailing list! I subscribe!  

Subscribe to our Newsletter !

If you wish to receive our latest news, please fill the form from our 'Contact' page by ticking 'Yes' » à la question « 'I wish to receive the lastest news from Domaine de Châtenoy' »

I subscribe!

 

en_USEnglish

Pour visiter notre site, vous devez être en âge d’acheter et de consommer de l’alcool selon la législation de votre pays de résidence. S’il n’existe pas de législation sur ce sujet, vous devez être âgé de 18 ans au moins.

To use this site, you must be of legal age to buy and consume alcohol in your country of residence. If there is no legislation in this regard in your country, you must be at least 18 years old.

Isabelle et Pierre Clément – Domaine de Châtenoy – Vins de Menetou Salon

L’ empreinte d’ une maison de tradition vigneronne

La maison

La maison

Bienvenue chez les Clément au Domaine de Châtenoy.

 

C’est dans la maison construite des mains de Pierre-Alexandre Clément l’arrière arrière grand-père d’Anne, Marie et de Pierre-Alexandre, en 1884, que notre famille vous recevra pour vous faire partager notre passion et nos cuvées. 

 

Si la bâtisse du XIXe, résidence actuelle de Pierre-Alexandre, où il a grandi avec ses soeurs Anne et Marie, n’a guère changé au fil des décennies, il en est tout autrement de la cave, aujourd’hui moderne et spacieuse ! 

L’ancienne cave voûtée, témoin de la naissance du premier millésime du domaine familial, reste toutefois utilisée et ouverte à la visite…

 

Vignerons à Menetou-Salon depuis 1560, notre famille se dédie aujourd’hui encore à la culture de la vigne.

DAME AVEC MAISON 1P
DEUX VERRESP

De la vigne au verre

 

A Menetou-Salon, dans la région viticole du Centre Loire, située dans le département du Cher, nos caves ont plus d’un secret à vous faire découvrir… 

“Pas de vin sans bon raisin”, ce credo, s’il peut sembler évident, est bien facile à dire mais complexe à mettre en œuvre… Afin de respecter chaque grain de raisin de la vigne jusque dans le verre de celui ou celle qui le dégustera, de nombreuses étapes sont à maîtriser rigoureusement. 

Le pressurage des vins blancs, issus du cépage Sauvignon, et des rosés, issus du Pinot Noir, se fait en grappes entières à l’aide de pressoirs pneumatiques permettant d’extraire les jus délicatement et d’assurer une qualité optimale. 

La vinification des vins rouges, issus du Pinot noir, s’effectue dans des cuves inox thermo-régulées. Elle débute par une macération pré-fermentaire à froid, un atout essentiel permettant au raisin d’exprimer tous ses arômes de fruits. La thermo-régulation est un moyen de maîtriser scrupuleusement les fermentations. S’ajoute à cela le pigeage, une technique douce et ancestrale ayant pour vocation d’extraire les composants du raisin qui en feront un grand vin : couleurs, tanins et arômes…

C’est dans cette recherche permanente de qualité et de soin apporté au raisin que nos caves ont été élaborées et réfléchies par Isabelle et Pierre.

Le savoir faire

Révéler le terroir et exprimer le millésime dans chaque cuvée sont les aspirations de notre famille, guidant notre conduite de vignerons. 

 

Oenologue de formation, Pierre a consolidé sa réflexion par de longues années d’expérimentations pour accompagner le raisin naturellement tout au long du processus de vinification. Soin méticuleux et observation sont le seul secret de fabrication de notre domaine… La transformation du raisin en vin s’obtient grâce à des levures naturelles permettant de souligner le caractère du millésime, les fermentations sont très longues et l’élevage sur lies, gages de finesse. L’élevage du vin, quant à lui, se fait pour tous les rouges et certaines cuvées de blanc en barriques ! Élaborées en chêne provenant des plus belles forêts françaises, Tronçais, Fontainebleau, les barriques et les foudres, utilisées au domaine depuis 1985 favorisent les fermentations malo-lactiques apportant rondeur et souplesse au vin.

ROUGE TRAD FUT P

Esprit d'équipe

Notre famille est entourée toute l’année d’une équipe de personnes motivées, impliquées et passionnées. Composée de jeunes et de moins jeunes de 24 à 57 ans, le doyen est présent depuis déjà 40 millésimes, et les nouvelles générations apportent leur regard neuf… 

A cela s’ajoutent des saisonniers venant prêter main forte pour le tirage du bois, l’ébourgeonnage ou encore l’accolage car la vigne c’est avant tout un savoir-faire manuel !

Vous aimez nos vins ?

Recevez chaque trimestre les actualités du domaine directement par mail ! Je m’inscris !  

Inscrivez-vous à notre newsletter !

Si vous souhaitez recevoir nos informations, actualités et offres, merci de remplir le formulaire de la page contact en cochant « oui » à la question « je souhaite recevoir les actualités du Domaine de Châtenoy »

Je m’inscris !

 

fr_FRFrançais